Non Halloween Costumes

This subject makes me think of a recent TED Talk I watched. A young lady in her late teens starts talking about dressing for success and leads into a vivid description of playing dress up as a child. We have no doubts as children that by changing our clothes we are changing our lives. As a young girl we go from being a princess to a superhero. The same with our boys one minute they are cowboys the next they are fighting in an imaginary war. The clothes made them what thy wanted to be. I thought that was very insightful. We used this talk to begin a discussion about being successful in business or life in general.  If you want to feel confident find clothes that make you feel confident. If you want to be an athlete you would not feel very confident showing up in a dress and high heels. But if you wore your uniform and any protective gear necessary for the sport you will feel ready to take on any challenges. You know practicing the skills will equip you to meet anything the game throws at you. Clothes are just costumes we use to get through our daily professional lives.  I know as a child I thought being professional was wearing heels, hose and dresses to work everyday. Now as an adult I wear a medical uniform that allows me to move freely and easily. Am I less professional? No. I am in my super hero costume. When I get home I become mom. That is a different type of super hero and a different cape.

 

via Daily Prompt: Costume

Leave a comment